America, I haven’t even had my Coffee yet.

As much as I want to believe that everyone is mostly sane in this country, I’m starting to have a hard time believing it myself. It’s not that I don’t think there are wonderful individuals, ya see, it’s that there seems to be more and more people out there who are being forced to one side or another of this giant fracture across America. It’s like, you can’t be moderate anymore, you can’t just listen to both sides and take your pick of a little bit of rhetoric from each side. You’re either with us or against us.

oh schneider, where are you now that we need you the most?

oh schneider, where are you now that we need you the most?

And it’s the “us” that I’m worried about. The United States doesn’t have to be the most powerful country in the world. There is no mandate from heaven (um, unless you think there is) that makes the USA any less succeptible to corruption and instability than any other bloated megapower in history. And unless we somehow figure out a way to cool out this multiple personality disorder shit we’ve been fomenting for the past decades, it’s not going to be us failing, it’s going to be someone else coming in, and then we’ll see what happens when the biggest kid on the playground gets knocked down…

God, that’s grim.

Anyway, it’s to do with this.

About this entry